Introducing Myself

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there. I’m Tanish, a blind programmer from India. I always loved to take things apart, and then put them back up again, and see whether they would work or not. Guess this is why programming attracted me so much.

So much so that I even decided to open up a blog about it, and write down my thoughts about it. About a year ago, I began my blog, where I review fictional (sometimes nonfictional) books, thinking that I might put down a once-in-a-while programming article down there. But slowly, it evolved into a thing of its own, and I didn’t want to confuse my readers there with two types of content. I’m already pushing it with all sorts of reviews, from anime to books to other animated series, to tv series and films.

When I discovered Hashnode through Free Code Camp, I thought this was a perfect platform for that. but I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to start another blog or not.

After getting enough of my procrastination, I decided “Fuck it, I’ll open another blog.” And here we are.

What can you expect from this blog?

Book reviews. Since I read a lot, I think this is natural. I’ll review all kinds of books here; some of them may not impact programming directly, but do have some indirect impact on crafting software.

Review of online platforms. Since there are a lot of them popping up these days, I will review them, and check their accessibility. I understand it might not matter to you, but I do think at least some basic accessibility should be provided by every online learning platform.

My thoughts, and experiences on certain tools of the trade I have used, as well as my personal stories. I do think you might find some of the challenges I face as a blind developer interesting.

Tutorials. Everyone is doing those; why not try my hand at them as well? though admittedly, this is more of me trying to put my thoughts down about something I’ve learned, instead of teaching you.

Mostly because I’ve learned that when you actually think you know something, and when you sit down to write about it, you realize that you didn’t know it, or had only superficial knowledge. So, this is for my own improvement. If someone gets a use out of it, (including a laugh about how bad at I’m writing tutorials), so much better.

The articles won’t be coming as fast as my other blog here, sadly. I suppose I’m shooting myself in the foot here by saying this, but I believe in being upfront and realistic, instead of promising something impossible, and then failing to deliver it. (Guess that’s another reason why no one wants to hire me, aside from my blindness.)

The reason being, technical articles are harder to write. If you’re just rambling on about your experiences, the attitude of the people in your field, then things are different. But when you’re writing an article with code on it, you need to be more rigorous and stricter. You don’t want to present an article with wrong, or outright false information, or with bad code. And that takes time. The same goes for reviewing technical books. It takes time to go over them completely.

However, you can expect multiple articles in a month here still.

I hope you enjoyed reading this introductory post. See you in the next article.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Tanish Shrivastava by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!